top of page

Why Did I Write a Werewolf Romance?

Firstly, in case you haven't noticed already, When in Gnome is now available on Amazon.com. I was so excited when I realized it around 10PM last night that I forgot to order a copy, but I did tell several other people to order it. I realized my blunder first thing this morning and went straight to the computer and ordered it.

In addition to telling you about site features here in the blog, I'll be answering some questions that I've been asked by different people about my book. Although no one has actually come out and asked why I decided to write a werewolf romance, I can sort of hear the question between the lines. What they really say is more like, "So, werewolf romance, huh?"

Truth be told, I did not set out to write a werewolf romance. I set out to write something different, and somewhere along the way, I started feeling bad for this hardworking werewolf. I realized that the plot I was trying to force on him was somewhat cliche and even awkward.

I also did not set out to write a romance. The book is a lot of things. It's about magic and mystery and this quirky place called Gnome. However, I didn't feel that the mystery really eclipsed the romance. So, it didn't seem right to call it a mystery story. And then, there were those love scenes. Was I really going to go there?

Although I'd set out to write a "serious" story, I stopped fighting it and decided that if this was going to be a werewolf romance, I'd make it the best werewolf romance I was capable of. Once I got past the label, I decided to just have fun with it because sometimes you need to chill and push all the things that worry you in life away. You need to go somewhere quirky and magical and mysterious and meet all these eccentric characters. At some point, you might decide that the thing you really need at that moment in life is a little werewolf romance.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page