top of page

How Long Did It Take Me to Finish the Book?

I can't remember exactly which decade I first decided to write this book, but it's been in computer format for about eight years. I knew I wanted to write a magical book, and I knew the setting. However, the characters evolved a lot, as did the plot.

I didn't work on it consistently and I kept putting it on the back burner because I kept coming up with plot issues. Then, one day, it all clicked in my head, like an epiphany. I think, though, mainly, perfectionism was to blame for it taking so long. I kept trying to make it into this great, fantastic book. It wasn't until I let go of the idea that it had to be this grand opus that I was able to see through the plot issues. I learned a lot through the process. Like, if something isn't working for me, there's probably a logical reason, and it's probably so simple that I'm missing it. Sometimes I just had to cut some ideas loose and admit that this is not the time nor the place for that idea.

I also went through a period where I felt that my dream was selfish and unrealistic. I denied myself this goal that made me happy and just kind of went through the motions. I felt like I had to justify the need for the book. Then I found myself asking the same thing of art, and I realized that the book didn't have to solve world hunger in order to be worthwhile. I found myself being cheered by the idea of the most trivial things, like watching a favorite TV show. That's when I knew it was okay to write the book. Because it would make me happy to write it. And it did.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page